Arts Management Faculty

Ximena Varela Director, Arts Management Program CAS - Performing Arts

Ximena Varela is a researcher, educator, and consultant with more than 20 years of experience in international cultural policy, management practice, marketing strategy, arts management research, and c

  varela@american.edu

  (202) 885-3883

Jennifer Buzzell Adjunct Instructor

Jennifer Buzzell is the Director of Marketing and Signature Theatre. Previously, she was Vice President for Marketing and Communications at Strathmore, a multi-disciplinary arts center in North Bethes

  buzzell@american.edu

Allison Houseworth Adjunct Professorial Lecturer

Alli Houseworth is a consultant whose work focuses on creating effective audience engagement and social media strategies for theatrical organizations. Throughout her entire career, Alli Houseworth has

  housewor@american.edu

Joan Jeffri Scholar in Residence

Director/founder of the Research Center for the Arts & Culture now at The Actors Fund; former director, graduate program in Arts Administration at Teachers College, Columbia University for 22 years. A

  jeffri@american.edu

Sherburne Laughlin Hurst Sr Professorial Lecturer CAS - Performing Arts

Sherburne Laughlin holds an MBA from Yale University and is a cum laude graduate of Davidson College. Her nonprofit management and philanthropic career spans over 20 years of executive director and pr

  slaughlin@american.edu

  (202) 885-3485

Dana Marine Adjunct Instructor

Dana Sherman Marine has nearly a decade of experience in the non-profit world, with a diverse background in fundraising and marketing, as well as a Masters in Arts Management from American University.

  dmarine@american.edu

John Rasmussen Director of Art Gallery & Curator CAS - Katzen Arts Center

Jack Rasmussen is the Director and Curator of the American University Museum at the Katzen Arts Center. He previously held Executive Director positions at di Rosa Preserve: Art & Nature, Maryland Art

  rasmusse@american.edu

  (202) 885-2489

E. Andrew Taylor Associate Professor CAS - Performing Arts

E. Andrew Taylor is an Associate Professor in the Arts Management Program, exploring the intersection of arts, culture, and business. An author, lecturer, and researcher on a broad range of arts manag

  eataylor@american.edu

  (202) 885-1601

Peter Wolk Adjunct Instructor

Mr. Wolk is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Trinity College, earned a Master of Education from Harvard University in Administration, Planning, and Social Policy of nonprofit organizations, and graduated

  wolk@american.edu