Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu

MFA Creative Writing | Student & Alum Books


Fax: 202-885-2938
Battelle Tompkins, Room 237

Burgtorf, Michael R
Sr. Administrative Assistant

4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8047
Parkhurst, The Nobodies Album

Jenny Molberg (MFA '09) won the 2014 Berkshire Prize for a First or Second Book from Tupelo Press for her debut collection, Marvels of the Invisible.

Abdul Ali (MFA '13) won the 2014 New Issues Prize for a First Collection of Poetry for Trouble Sleeping.

Cedric Tillman’s (MFA ’04) collection of poetry, Lilies of the Valley, was published by Willow Books in October 2013.

Glen Finland's (MFA ‘06) first book, a memoir called Next Stop, was published by Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam in March 2012.

Amy Stolls's (MFA ’00) was named the new director of literature at the National Endowment for the Arts. Her second novel, The Ninth Wife, was published in June 2011 by (HarperCollins).

Sandra Beasley’s (MFA ’04) memoir, Don't Kill the Birthday Girl, published by Crown in 2011—see also Creative Writing Alumna Transitions.

Paulette Beete (MFA '04) has published two chapbooks of poetry: Blues for a Pretty Girl (2005, Finishing Line Press) and Voice Lessons (2011, Plan B Press).

Derrick Weston Brown's (MFA ’04) collection of poetry, Wisdom Teeth, (PM Press) was released in May 2011.

Lisa Norris's story collection, Women Who Sleep With Animals, a finalist for the Spokane Prize and winner of the Stephen F. Austin University Press Prize for fiction, was published in October 2011.

Jayanti Tamm's (MFA ’00) memoir, Cartwheels in a Sari: A Memoir of Growing Up Cult, came out in December, 2010, from Three Rivers Press.

Carolyn Parkhurst's third novel, The Nobodies Album, was published in June 2010 by Doubleday. Her first children's book, Cooking with Henry and Elliebelly, was published in November 2010 by Feiwel & Friends.

Richard Cytowic's (MFA ’11) Wednesday is Indigo Blue: Discovering the Brain of Synesthesia was published by MIT Press in 2009.


Leslie Pietrzyk, A Year and a Day

Leslie Pietrzyk's books include A Year and a Day: A Novel (William Morrow 2009) and Pears on a Willow Tree (Avon 1999).

Ryan Bloom's (MFA ’06) English translation of Nobel-laureate Albert Camus' Notebooks 1951-1959 was published in May 2008 by Rowman and Littlefield/Ivan R Dee to much critical and academic acclaim. In May 2009, Notebooks was selected as one of five nominees for the French-American and Florence Gould Foundation's superiority in translation award.

Weezie Kerr Mackey (MFA '90) is the author of a young adult novel, Throwing Like a Girl (Marshall Cavendish) nominated by the Texas Institute of Letters as the Best Young Adult Book, 2007.

Matt Getty's (MFA ’01) You Will Behave: A Novella with Added Goodies came out in 2006 from Suckerpunch Press.

Elizabeth Poliner's Mutual Life and Casualty was published by Permanent Press (2005).

W.T. (Todd) Pfefferle (MFA '84) had his third book, Poets on Place, published by Utah State University Press in 2005.

Jorie Green Mark (MFA ’99) wrote the book Bride in Overdrive: A Journey into Wedding Insantiy and Back (St. Martins Griffin, 2004).

J.L. Conrad (MFA ’00) is the author of A Cartography of Birds (Louisiana State University Press, 2002).

Donna Hemans's (MFA ’99) first novel River Woman was published in 2002 by Washington Square Press.

Maxine Clair's most recent book is October Suite, a novel (Random House, 2001).

Harvey Grossinger's collection of short stories, The Quarry (University of Georgia Press, 1997) won the Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction.