Skip to main content
Expand AU Menu



CAS Dean's Office
Fax: 202-885-2429
Battelle-Tompkins, Room 200

CAS Dean's Office
4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Washington, DC 20016-8012


Math Professors Honored by  Provost

By Ariana Stone

Math profs Stallings and Lansky

Photo by Samantha Saleh

Two professors in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics have received 2010 University Faculty Awards for their contributions to their discipline. 

Virginia Stallings received the Outstanding Service to the University Community award. This recognizes exceptional commitment to the university community through student mentorship, sponsorship of university events, initiation of new services, and leadership. Joshua Lansky received the Morton Bender Prize, which is presented each year to a professor who has obtained a significant achievement since the attainment of tenure. 

The University Faculty Awards are given out annually by the Office of the Provost. Each year, the Office of the Provost also recognized faculty members who have hit 25–40 year service milestones. The 2010 honorees from the College of Arts and Sciences are as follows: 

25 Years of Service  
Frederic Jacobs, Literature  
Robert A. Blecker, Economics  
Deborah Payne Fisk, Literature

30 Years of Service  
Delores B. Koenig, Anthropology  
Albert Mei-Chu Cheh, Environmental Science  
Angela Y Wu, Computer Science

35 Years of Service  
Ivy E. Broder, Economics  
Norma Broude, Art
Jerzy Sapieyevski, Performing Arts

40 Years of Service  
James J. Gray, Psychology  
William L. Leap, Anthropology  
Jeffery H. Reiman, Philosophy and Religion

Retiring Faculty  
Sue E. Headlee, Economics (Dual appointment with Washington Semester Program)  
Russell A. Stone, Sociology