Directors

Jeffrey Bachman Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Jeff Bachman is a Professorial Lecturer in Human Rights and Co-Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Global Affairs MA Program. His teaching and research interests focus primarily on U.S. foreign policy

  bachman@american.edu

  (202) 885-6826

Evan Berry Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Evan Berry is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Co-Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Global Affairs master's program. His research examines the relationship between religion and the

  berry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Affiliate Faculty

Eric Abitbol Adjunct Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Eric Abitbol is an academic-practitioner in the field of environmental peacebuilding, housed in IPCR (International Peace and Conflict Resolution) and GEP (Global Environmental Politics) at American U

  abitbol@american.edu

  (202) 885-6583

Debra Bergoffen Bishop Hamilton Lecturer in Philosophy

Dr. Debra Bergoffen is the Bishop Hamilton Lecturer in Philosophy at American University and Professor Emerita of Philosophy at George Mason University. During her tenure at Mason she chaired the Depa

  bergoffe@american.edu

Daniel Esser Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Esser's current research investigates the social foundations of political legitimacy in non-democratic settings. This new line of inquiry builds on his widely cited work on urban governance,

  esser@american.edu

  (202) 885-1892

Ellen Feder Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2931

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Kimberly Leighton Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Kim Leighton was raised in the Boston area, and has spent much of her life in New York and Western Mass. She spent her junior year abroad studying at Oxford University. After finishing her dissertatio

  leighton@american.edu

  (202) 885-2415

Julie Mertus Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Julie Mertus has written widely on human rights and gender, conflict, the Balkans, U.S. foreign policy and U.N. institutions. She is the author or editor of ten books, including Bait and Swi

  mertus@american.edu

  (202) 885-2215

Shadi Mokhtari Assistant Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Shadi Mokhtari specializes in human rights, Middle East Politics and Political Islam. She has an extensive background in human rights and women’s rights issues in the Middle East and Muslim World. She

  mokhtari@american.edu

  (202) 885-6570

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Amy Oliver Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Professor Oliver's teaching and research on Latin America explore philosophical topics such as marginality, feminism, nepantlismo, and transfronterismo. She works on the Hispanic essay of ideas and La

  aoliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Jin Y. Park Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Jin Y. Park is Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Founding Director of Asian Studies Program at American University. Park's research areas include East Asian Buddhism (especially Zen and Huayan

  jypark@american.edu

  (202) 885-2919

Abdul Aziz Said Professor Emeritus

Dr. Said is the senior ranking professor at American University and the first occupant of the endowed Mohamed Said Farsi Chair of Islamic Peace. He founded the university-wide Center for Global Peace,

  asaid@american.edu

Assistant Dean for MA Programs Senior Professorial Lecturer SIS-School of Intl Service

Michael Schroeder is Senior Professorial Lecturer and Assistant Dean for Masters Education at the School of International Service. Dr. Schroeder's teaching and research is focused on the United Nati

  schroede@american.edu

  (202) 885-1664

Susan Shepler Associate Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Dr. Shepler's research interests include youth and conflict, reintegration of former child soldiers, post-conflict reconstruction, refugees, education and economic development, NGOs and globalization,

  shepler@american.edu

  (202) 885-2454

Lauren Weis Director, WGSS CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the American University faculty in 2008, and have been teaching courses in the history of philosophy, metaphysics, ethics, gender studies, and feminist theory. My philosophical research focus

  weis@american.edu

  (202) 885-2926