Patricia Aufderheide University Professor SOC - School of Communication

Patricia Aufderheide is University Professor of Communication Studies in the School of Communication at American University in Washington, D.C. She founded the School's Center for Media & Social Impac

  paufder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2069

Randall Blair Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Randall Blair is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is a professional filmmaker who teaches courses in producing, directing, script writing and film production. He has created award-winn

  rblair@american.edu

  (202) 885-2044

Kyle Brannon Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Kyle "Kylos" Brannon is a full-time professor of Film & Media Arts. He is a filmmaker, motion graphic designer, and VJ. His work with exhibit media has appeared in the Brown v Board National Historic

  kbrannon@american.edu

  (202) 885-2162

William Gentile Journalist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Bill Gentile is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is an independent journalist and documentary filmmaker at American University, where he brings 30 years of field experience and profess

  gentile@american.edu

  (202) 885-2663

Lindsay Grace Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Lindsay is an associate professor at American University and founding director of the American University Game Lab and Studio. He was the Fall 2017 Visiting Knight Chair at the University of Miami. Hi

  grace@american.edu

  (202) 885-6933

Robert Hone Research Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

I'm currently a Designer-In-Residence and Visiting Scholar in the School of Communications. I teach "Designing Health Games" in the spring and our inaugural class resulted in four 'fundable' game conc

  hone@american.edu

Leena Jayaswal Professor SOC - School of Communication

Leena Jayaswal is a documentary filmmaker, award-winning photographer and Professor in the School of Communication at American University in Washington DC, where she is the director of the Photography

  ljayasw@american.edu

  (202) 885-2662

Larry Kirkman Professor SOC - School of Communication

I’m Professor of Film and Media Arts and Dean Emeritus in the School of Communication at American University. On sabbatical in 2018, I retire in 2019 after 18 years. I was dean of the school from 2001

  larry@american.edu

  (202) 885-6931

Kimberly Llerena Professorial Lecturer SOC - School of Communication

Kim Llerena is a photographic artist currently based in Washington, D.C. She received her MFA in Photographic & Electronic Media from the Maryland Institute College of Art and a BA in Journalism from

  llerena@american.edu

  (202) 885-2073

Brigid Maher Associate Professor SOC - School of Communication

Brigid Maher is the Director of the Film and Media Arts Division and a tenured, associate professor in the School of Communication. She is the Director of the Community Voice Project and Senior Fellow

  bmaher@american.edu

  (202) 885-2664

Sarah Menke-Fish Assistant Professor SOC - School of Communication

Sarah Menke-Fish is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. She is a master teacher in the School of Communication. She serves as associate director for the Center for Environmental Filmmaking,

  smenke@american.edu

  (202) 885-2098

Christopher Palmer Distinguished Film Producer in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Chris Palmer is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He is also a speaker, author, and environmental and wildlife film producer. He has swum with dolphins and whales, come face-to-face with s

  palmer@american.edu

  (202) 885-3408

Maggie Burnette Stogner Professor SOC - School of Communication

Maggie Burnette Stogner is a professor of Film and Media Arts and brings over 30 years of filmmaking experience to the classroom. During her nine years at National Geographic, she produced, directed a

  stogner@american.edu

  (202) 885-2160

Russell Williams Distinguished Artist in Residence SOC - School of Communication

Russell Williams is a full-time professor of Film and Media Arts. He joined SOC after an illustrious career in Hollywood, where he won two Academy Awards for his sound work on Glory and Dances with Wo

  rwill@american.edu

  (202) 885-2115