Skip to main content

University Awards

Provost Bass and President Kerwin stand with Angela Davis, who received the 2015 Scholar Teacher Award.

Faculty Awards

American University annually recognizes outstanding faculty who have made significant contributions in the areas of teaching, research and service.

Nomination Process

Nominations for 2017 Faculty Awards will open Jan. 23, 2017. Nomination deadline is Feb. 20, 2017.

These awards will be presented at the Faculty Recognition Dinner in April 2017.

1. Students, faculty, and staff of the AU Community may nominate faculty for the University Faculty Awards. Please see the List of Faculty Awards.

2. Nominations must be submitted to the dean (or the University Librarian) of the nominee's academic unit via the online Faculty Awards Nomination Form.

3. Nominators must provide nomination materials, including a Curriculum Vitae (short form is acceptable), which may be obtained from the nominee or his/her department. Academic units will provide teaching evaluations for those categories requiring them.

4. Before completing the nomination, please review the criteria for each award below. Please note that Morton Bender Prize nominations are made only by the deans.

5. From this initial pool of nominations, the deans of Kogod, SIS, SOC, SPA, SPExS and WCL, as well as the University Librarian, will select and forward one nominee for each category (the dean of CAS may forward two nominations for each category) to the Office of the Provost.

List of Faculty Awards

Read the complete list of available faculty awards with their detailed descriptions and requirements.

View List of Faculty Awards

NEW FOR 2017

Find out more about the NEW Faculty & Staff Collaboration Award designed to promote and reward outstanding collaborative efforts between faculty and staff at AU.

View Staff Awards Page