Skip to main content

President's Council

AU's Administrative Leadership

The president’s council is composed of members of the president’s cabinet (senior university administrators), the academic deans (academic leadership), the university librarian, and the director of athletics and recreation. 

The president’s council meets once a month to discuss issues of importance to the university community. A copy of the AU organizational chart is available online. 

The members of the president's council are listed below.

President's Cabinet

Neil Kerwin
Cornelius M. Kerwin, President

Dr. Cornelius M. Kerwin became American University’s fourteenth president on September 1, 2007. He leads an institution of nearly 13,000 students, 1,300 teaching and administrative faculty, and 2,500 staff. He is a nationally recognized specialist in public policy and the regulatory process.


Office of the President

Scott A. Bass
Scott A. Bass, Provost

As Provost, Dr. Scott Bass is the chief academic officer of American University. Since his arrival at AU in 2008, Provost Bass has focused on strategic planning, diversity, and strengthening the academic infrastructure. He is a nationally known gerontologist.


Office of the Provost

Teresa Flannery
Teresa Flannery, Vice President, Communication

Terry Flannery oversees the university's official communications areas: University Communication, including the Media Relations and Web Communications offices; University Marketing; and University Publications.


University Communications and Marketing

KNOW/WONK campaign

Gail Short Hanson, Vice President, Campus Life

Gail Hanson and the Campus Life staff work to integrate students into a diverse university community; promote their intellectual, social, and spiritual development; and in collaboration with the faculty, prepare students for lifelong learning and global citizenship.


Office of Campus Life

Mary E. Kennard, Vice President and General Counsel

Mary Kennard oversees the Office of the General Counsel and Human Resources. The attorneys within the Office of the General Counsel provide, manage, and coordinate all legal services for the university.


Office of the General Counsel

Douglas Kudravetz, Chief Financial Officer, Vice President and Treasurer

Douglas Kudravetz oversees the overall financial and investment management of the university. His executive responsibilities also include controllership and treasury operations, student accounts, procurement and contracts, budget and payroll, capital and facilities planning, facilities management, sustainability, external relations, auxiliary services, public safety, risk management, transportation services, and internal audit.


Office of Finance and Treasurer

Courtney Surls 100x100 head shot
Courtney Surls, Vice President, Development and Alumni Relations

Courtney Surls works with the university leadership, alumni, and donors to support AU’s strategic priorities, attract new funding, and build lifelong relationships between AU and more than 115,000 alumni.


Office of Development and Alumni Relations

David Swartz, Vice President and Chief Information Officer

Since joining AU in 2007, Dave Swartz has worked to bring best practices and strong leadership to AU's Office of Information Technology, which provides central support for the university’s computing and telecommunications needs. Recognized by Computerworld as a "Best Place to Work in IT" for 2013, OIT performs four distinctive service functions: IT Customer Services and Support, Enterprise Systems, Information Security, and Technology Operations.


Office of Information Technology

David Taylor
David E. Taylor, Chief of Staff; Secretary, Board of Trustees

David Taylor is responsible for presidential communications and other duties on behalf of the president. He is secretary to the university's Board of Trustees. He also oversees WAMU 88.5, AU's public radio station, and the Office of Special Events.


Board of Trustees

WAMU 88.5

Academic Deans

Mary L. Clark, Dean of Academic Affairs and Senior Vice Provost

Mary L. Clark works with the provost and academic units to recruit and retain faculty, develop academic programs, support faculty research and teaching, and engage in the intellectual mission of the university.


Academic Affairs

Erran Carmel, Interim Dean, Kogod School of Business

Erran Carmel is interim dean of the the Kogod School of Business, which is renowned for its commitment to the belief that "profit and purpose are not at odds." Carmel is a recognized scholar and consultant in the area of globalization of technology work. His scholarship focuses on global sourcing and global teams, including crowdsourcing and offshoring of information technology.


Kogod School of Business

SIS Goldgeier 300x300
James Goldgeier, Dean, School of International Service

James Goldgeier, an expert on contemporary international relations and American foreign policy, is dean of the School of International Service. The School of International Service is the largest school of international relations in the United States and is training future leaders to "wage peace" around the world.


School of International Service

Claudio Grossman
Claudio M. Grossman, Dean, Washington College of Law

Claudio Grossman has built renowned programs in experiential learning (clinics and externships), international law, law and government, intellectual property, business, and gender.


Washington College of Law

Barbara S. Romzek, Dean, School of Public Affairs

Barbara Romzek leads the School of Public Affairs, a nationally top-ranked school offering education in the fields of political science, public administration, public policy, and justice at the graduate, executive and undergraduate levels.


School of Public Affairs

Jeffrey Rutenbeck, Dean, School of Communication

Jeffrey Rutenbeck directs and develops the School of Communication's academic and professional programs in Journalism, Film and Media Arts and Public Communication. 


School of Communication

Dean Starr 100px
Peter Starr, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Peter Starr oversees the College of Arts and Sciences, which offers more than 150 majors, minors, master's, PhDs, and certificate programs in the arts, humanities, sciences, social sciences, and education.


College of Arts and Sciences

Jonathan Tubman, Vice Provost, Research, and Dean of Graduate Studies

Jonathan Tubman leads Research and Graduate Studies. His office seeks to develop opportunities for innovation in graduate education and provide infrastructure for academic research.


Graduate Studies

Carola Weil, Dean, School of Professional and Extended Studies

Carola Weil leads the School of Professional and Extended Studies (SPExS), which includes the Washington Semester Program, Washington Internships for Native Students, the Washington Mentorship Program, and the Graduate Gateway Program.


School of Professional and Extended Studies


Other Senior Administrators

William Walker, Director, Athletics and Recreation

William (Billy) Walker oversees AU's athletics teams, intramural and club sports, and recreation programs. The Eagles compete in the Patriot League, which emphasizes athletics and academic competitiveness.


Athletics and Recreation

Nancy Davenport, University Librarian

The university library, headed by Nancy Davenport, serves as a gateway to AU's print resources and electronic information and supports student and faculty research.


University Library

Raina Lenney 100x100
Raina Lenney, Assistant Vice President, Alumni Relations

Raina Lenney is responsible for advancing the mission of the university through programs, benefits, and services designed to engage AU's alumni constituency.


Office of Development and Alumni Relations

Beth Muha Head Shot
Beth Muha, Assistant Vice President of Human Resources

Beth Muha is responsible for overseeing American University's Office of Human Resources.


Human Resources