Current Trustees

Jack C. Cassell

Chair of the Board; President, Cassell Global Investments, Jupiter, FL

Marc N. Duber*

Vice Chair of the Board; Executive Vice President & Chief Operating Officer, The Bernstein Companies, Washington, DC

Gary M. Abramson*

Partner, The Tower Companies, North Bethesda, MD

Gina F. Adams

Corporate Vice President, FedEx Corporation, Washington, DC

Stephanie M. Bennett-Smith 

President Emerita, Centenary College, Hackettstown, NJ

Gary D. Cohn

President and Chief Operating Officer, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., New York, NY

Pamela M. Deese

Partner, Arent Fox PLLC, Washington, DC

Hani M.S. Farsi

CEO, Corniche Group, Ltd., London, England

Thomas A. Gottschalk 

Of Counsel, Kirkland & Ellis, LLP, Washington, DC

Gisela B. Huberman

President, GBH Radio, Inc., Fisher Island, FL

C. Nicholas Keating, Jr.

President and CEO, Network Equipment Technologies, Fremont, CA

Margery Kraus

President and CEO, APCO Worldwide, Washington, DC

Gerald Bruce Lee*

Judge, United States District Court, Alexandria, VA

Ross B. Levinsohn

Former CEO, Guggenheim Digital Media, Los Angeles, CA

Charles H. Lydecker

President, Retail Division, Brown & Brown, Inc., Daytona Beach, FL

Betsy A. Mangone

Vice President (Ret.), The Denver Foundation, Denver, CO

Robyn Rafferty Mathias

Principal (retired), Rolling Terrace Elementary School, Bethesda, MD

Alan L. Meltzer

Founder & CEO, The Meltzer Group, Bethesda, MD

Arthur J. Rothkopf 

Senior Vice President and Counselor to the President, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Washington, DC

Peter L. Scher*

Executive Vice President of Global Government Relations and Public Policy, JPMorgan Chase & Co., Washington, DC

Jeffrey A. Sine

Partner, The Raine Group LLC, New York, NY


Ex-officio Trustees

Kim Cape

General Secretary, General Board of Higher Education and Ministry, United Methodist Church, Nashville, TN

Cornelius M. Kerwin*^ 

President, American University, Washington, DC

Marcus Matthews

Bishop, Baltimore-Washington Conference of The United Methodist Church, Washington, DC


Faculty Trustees

Larry Engel^

Chair of the Faculty Senate; Associate Professor, School of Communication, American University, Washington DC

Lacey T. Wootton^*

Past Chair of the Faculty Senate; Hurst Senior Professorial Lecturer of Literature, American University, Washington, DC

Student Trustee


Evangeline (Evie) C. Unsworth^*

BS in Political Science (in progress), School of Public Affairs, American University, Washington, DC

Student Trustee-Elect

To be determined^*



* Alumna/alumnus of American University

^ Non-voting trustee


Updated July 2015