Faculty & Staff

Ellen Feder Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Faculty

Cameron Bassiri Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the community at AU in the fall of 2013. I am currently a Professorial Lecturer and have taught several courses that have focused on ethical theories and issues. I also help co-organize the D

  bassiri@american.edu

  (202) 885-8144

Evan Berry Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Evan Berry is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Co-Director of the Ethics, Peace, and Global Affairs master's program. His research examines the relationship between religion and the

  berry@american.edu

  (202) 885-2493

Farhang Erfani Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the AU community in 2005. My teaching and research are focused on democratic theory, globalization, exile, existentialism and aesthetics, particularly philosophy of film.

  erfani@american.edu

  (202) 885-2206

Ellen Feder Professor and Department Chair, Philosophy and Religion CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Ellen K. Feder is the William Fraser McDowell Professor of Philosophy and Social Policy. She works at the intersection of contemporary continental philosophy and feminist and critical race theory, par

  efeder@american.edu

  (202) 885-2140

Asia Ferrin Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I am an Assistant Professor of Philosophy at American University. My primary research interests are in Moral Psychology, Feminist Philosophy, and Ethics. In my research, I pursue projects that help us

  ferrin@american.edu

  (202) 885-2415

Gershon Greenberg Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Gershon Greenberg is the author of three definitive bibliographies of religious thought and the Holocaust, and numerous articles on German-Jewish philosophy, history of Jewish thought in America and r

  greenbe@american.edu

  (202) 885-2912

Nabina Liebow Professorial Lecturer CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Nabina works primarily in applied ethics, philosophy of race, social philosophy, feminist theory, and moral psychology. In addition, Nabina is passionate about making philosophy accessible and excitin

  liebow@american.edu

  (202) 885-2953

Shaeeda Mensah Instructor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Shaeeda Mensah earned a BA in Sociology from Spelman College. She has a master’s in philosophy from Pennsylvania State University and is currently working towards the completion of her Ph.D in the sam

  mensah@american.edu

  (202) 885-2926

Amy Oliver Associate Professor CAS - World Languages and Cultures

Professor Oliver's teaching and research on Latin America explore philosophical topics such as marginality, feminism, nepantlismo, and transfronterismo. She works on the Hispanic essay of ideas and La

  aoliver@american.edu

Martyn Oliver Director, Arab World Studies CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Martyn was born and raised in southern Minnesota. In addition to Washington State and Boston, his studies also took him to Scotland, Lebanon, Austria, and Morocco. His work explores the construction o

  oliver@american.edu

  (202) 885-2943

Jin Y. Park Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Jin Y. Park is Professor of Philosophy and Religion and Founding Director of Asian Studies Program at American University. Park's research areas include East Asian Buddhism (especially Zen and Huayan

  jypark@american.edu

  (202) 885-2919

Shubha Pathak Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Shubha Pathak is a historian of religions who studies the mythological literatures of India, Greece, and Rome. In addition to teaching courses on comparative philosophy and comparative religion, she i

  pathak@american.edu

  (202) 885-2957

Jeffrey Reiman Prof Emeritus

Please contact at jreiman@american.edu.Jeffrey Reiman is the William Fraser McDowell Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Social Policy. He was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1942. After receiving his

  jreiman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2925

Andrea Tschemplik Associate Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I came to American University in 2001 and have been teaching a variety of courses in the History of Philosophy, as well as thematic courses such as the Philosophy of Love and Friendship. My primary sc

  atschem@american.edu

  (202) 885-2921

Lauren Weis Director, WGSS CAS - Philosophy and Religion

I joined the American University faculty in 2008, and have been teaching courses in the history of philosophy, metaphysics, ethics, gender studies, and feminist theory. My philosophical research focus

  weis@american.edu

  (202) 885-2926

Perry Zurn Assistant Professor CAS - Philosophy and Religion

Perry Zurn is Assistant Professor of Philosophy at American University. He researches in political philosophy, gender theory, and applied ethics. Zurn is writing The Politics of Curiosity (under contr

  pzurn@american.edu

  (202) 885-2964

Adjunct Faculty

Leila Berner Scholar in Residence

A Fulbright scholar, Rabbi Leila Gal Berner, PhD, has spent extensive time in Spain researching Jews during the Spanish Reconquista. Ordained at the Reconstructionist Rabbinical College, Rabbi Berner

  berner@american.edu

Rebecca Carr Scholar in Residence

Rebecca Carr is Scholar-in-Residence. She teaches courses in American philosophy, moral philosophy, and logic.

  carr@american.edu

Mark Schaefer University Chaplain Kay Spiritual Life Center

Rev. Mark Schaefer is the tenth University Chaplain in American University's history, appointed to the position in September 2016 after having served for 14 years as AU's United Methodist Chaplain. He

  schaef@american.edu

  (202) 885-3336