*** The complete Recording for this meeting can be December 6, 20 found at http://www.american.edu./facultysenate/agendas-minutes.cfm

Present: Professors: Andrea Pearson, Elizabeth Worden, Todd Eisenstadt, Anthony Ahrens, Karen Baehler, Kyle Brannon, Chuck Cox, Stefano Costanzi, John Douglas, Chris Edelson, Doug Fox, Max Friedman, Maria Gomez, John Heywood, Derrick Jefferson, Ken Knight, Emily Lindsay, Zehra Peynircioglu, Jim Quirk, Sybil Roberts, Cathy Schaeff, Richard Sha, Shalini Venturelli, Provost Scott Bass and DAA Mary L. Clark

Professor Pearson reiterated that the meeting would be extended by half an hour to accommodate business.

No Confidence Language for Senate By-Laws – Todd Eisenstadt

Professor Eisenstadt stated that the proposed language has been revised several times both by the Senate Executive Committee and the Senate body. He opened the floor for discussion. After several clarifying questions the Senate **VOTED** 16-1-3 in favor.

President's Council on Diversity and Inclusion (PCDI) Roadmap – Jeff Rutenbeck, Caleen Jennings and Bridget Cooney

Professor Jennings gave an overview of the PCDI process. Dean Rutenbeck from the School of Communications provided information on other institutions that have used the same model. From this information the committee built a customized draft tool for AU. Professor Jennings and Dean Rutenbeck gave examples of how the plan will be implemented and the responses of various audiences. A few examples included discussion on campus-wide training, effects on curriculum and academic freedom of speech, and the AU Core.

In closing Dean Rutenbeck requested that any input from the Senate would be greatly valued and that he and Professor Jennings look forward to returning with updates in the future.

SETs Working Group Update – Elizabeth Worden

Professor Worden stated that the name of the instrument was changed back to SET from ITS upon Board of Trustee review of proposed revisons to the Faculty Manual. The working group revised and condensed the recently piloted questions, leaving 10 multiple choice and two open ended questions for a total of 12. A longer discussion will be held at the February meeting to include process and the CAS Deans Advisory Council report.

Discussion on New Strategic Plan – President Sylvia Matthews Burwell

President Burwell thanked the Senate for allowing her time to discuss the plan. She opened addressing three items: 1) Themes that emerged from the three questions that she has presented

across campus. 2) Start the discussion on the process for the new strategic plan, and 3) A discussion on the Mission, Vision and Values statements. She asked Dean Clark to facilitate the discussion on the latter item. Dean Clark asked the Senators to take the draft statements back to their units for further discussion and that any additional comments be sent to her. President Burwell thanked the Senate for their input and is looking forward to continued work on these very important topics.

Public Safety Presentation - Captain Will Sowers & Lieutenant Rima Sifri

Captain Sowers and Lieutenant Sifri discussed the growth of Public Safety, mental health on campus and how deeply officers have been trained to handle such cases, who responds, and to be mindful of privacy. They also informed the senate of the many safety programs available on campus for students, faculty, and staff.

Undergraduate Regulation Change – Jessica Waters

Dean Waters stated that the request for the change to regulation 8.3 is to allow flexibility for students to be able to meet the university math requirement in the first three semesters instead of the first two upon consultation with an academic advisor. The senate **VOTED** 14-2-2 in favor.

Guest Speakers in the Classroom Guidelines – Andrea Pearson

Professor Pearson stated that after the first review by the Senate Executive Committee and the full Senate the document has come back for a final review with some small editorial changes. After questions and comments the Senate **VOTED** 18-0-1 in favor.

Provost's Report – Scott Bass

- a) An announcement on team/collaborative teaching has been re-sent as a result of last month's discussion at the Senate meeting and he encouraged faculty to take advantage of this opportunity.
- b) Graduate student Craig Stevens is the third AU student to receive the Marshall Scholarship. There were also two AU outstanding finalists for the Rhodes Scholarship.
- c) Early decision applications have exceeded last year's numbers.
- d) The Don Myers Building was officially opened. The innovative technology is unlike any other building on campus

Minutes Approval and New Senate Member – Andrea Pearson

Professor Pearson opened the floor for review of the November 1, 2017 minutes. The Senate **VOTED** 17-0-1 in favor. Professor Person introduced Professor Maria Gomez as the new Chair for the Committee on Term Faculty Affairs and welcomed her to her new position on the Senate.

The meeting was adjourned 5:15 pm