Contact Us

Political Theory Institute 4400 Massachusetts Avenue NW Washington, DC 20016 United States

Back to top

Director


Associate Director


Core Faculty


G. Borden Flanagan Assistant Professor SPA - Government

On research leave at the University of Toronto for the academic year 2014-2015. Borden Flanagan’s area of expertise is the history of Western political philosophy. His teaching and research interests

  flanagan@american.edu

  (202) 885-6495

Sarah Houser Professorial Lecturer SPA - Government

Sarah L. Houser is a professorial lecturer in the Department of Government in the School of Public Affairs at American University. Her research and teaching interests include patriotism and cosmopolit

  houser@american.edu

  (202) 885-6263

Faculty Associates


Karen Baehler Scholar in Residence SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Professor Karen Baehler holds a Ph.D. in Policy Sciences from the University of Maryland (1999), where she also earned a Master of Public Policy (1991). Her B.A. is from St. Olaf College (1981), where

  baehler@american.edu

  (202) 885-6072

Daniel Dreisbach Professor SPA - Justice, Law and Criminology

Professor Dreisbach earned a doctor of philosophy degree from Oxford University, where he studied as a Rhodes Scholar, and a Juris Doctor degree from the University of Virginia. His principal research

  ddreisb@american.edu

  (202) 885-2380

Laura Field Professorial Lecturer SIS - School of International Service

Laura K. Field is a political theorist in the School of International Service. She works on questions of character, identity, and ethics, and has a particular interest in the thought of Rousseau and N

  lkfield@american.edu

  (202) 885-1694

Bradley Hardy Associate Professor SPA - Public Admin and Policy

Hardy is an Associate Professor of Public Administration and Policy and nonresident senior fellow in Economic Studies at the Brookings Institution. He also serves as a visiting scholar with the Center

  hardy@american.edu

  (202) 885-3881

Jeffrey Reiman Professor Emeritus

Please contact at jreiman@american.edu.Jeffrey Reiman is the William Fraser McDowell Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Social Policy. He was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1942. After receiving his

  jreiman@american.edu

  (202) 885-2925

Paul Wapner Professor SIS-School of Intl Service

Professor Paul Wapner’s research focuses on global environmental politics, environmental thought, transnational environmental activism, and environmental ethics. He is particularly concerned with unde

  pwapner@american.edu

  (202) 885-1647