You are here: American University About Academic Profile

Our Academic Profile

A student-centered research institution situated in a residential neighborhood of the nation's capital, we are home to eight prestigious schools and colleges, over 170 programs, and more than 13,000 students.


American University is a private, co-educational doctoral institution situated in a residential neighborhood of northwest Washington, D.C. We are classified as an R2 Institution, ranked "Doctoral: Higher Research Activity" by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. We are a Methodist affiliated institution.

In fall 2022, AU’s enrollment was approximately 13,855, with 7,644 degree-seeking undergraduates, 4,401 degree-seeking graduate students, 1,468 law students, and 372 students in non-degree certificate programs.

AU offers 81 bachelor’s degrees, 95 master’s degrees; 11 doctoral degrees; 22 dual degrees; JD, LLM, SJD, and MLS degrees; and certificates and associate degrees. Online, AU offers more than 30 master’s degrees and graduate certificates.

Face-to-face courses run on a 15-week semester basis in fall and spring, with shorter summer term classes. In addition, AU offers study abroad programs and alternative breaks. Eighty-nine percent of undergraduates participate in at least one internship during their time at AU, and 52 percent of students participate in study abroad. AU’s undergraduate first-year retention rate is 86 percent, and 80 percent of students graduate from AU within six years.

AU’s campus-based student body is globally diverse, with all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and more than 100 countries represented. Eleven percent of graduate students and 10.6 percent of undergraduate students are international. The university’s mission is carried out by 962 full-time faculty and more than 1,600 full-time staff. Ninety-four percent of full-time faculty hold the highest degree in their field. Among AU’s more than 700 adjunct faculty are policymakers, diplomats, journalists, artists, writers, scientists, and business leaders.

More Info

For more information about American University, visit our Consumer Information page.

Fall 2023 Admitted Student Profile

  • 3.59-4.14
    GPA Middle 50%
    (School reported)

  • 1320-1450
    SAT Middle 50%
    (Critical Reading and Math)

  • 29-33
    ACT Middle 50%

11 to 1

Student-Faculty Ratio

AY 2022-23


Average Undergraduate Class Size

AY 2022-23


Average Graduate Class Size (Excludes Law)

AY 2022-23

94 percent

Faculty Hold Highest Degrees in Their Fields

Fall 2022


number 51

Best College Value (Private)

Kiplinger 2018 Best College Value

Other Indicators of Excellence

AU consistently ranks among the nation’s great universities. A sample of recent rankings:

Scholarship + Careers

  • #1 nationally for Boren graduate fellows and #2 for combined Boren scholars and fellows (2023)
  • #4 nationally for Presidential Management Fellows finalists (2022)
  • Top producer of Gilman Scholars over the past 20 years, mid-sized institutions (designated in 2021);

Community Service + Engagement